Madagascar https://www.wfp.org/feeds/Madagascar Country content en Empowering Farmers In Drought-hit Southern Madagascar https://www.wfp.org/stories/empowering-farmers-drought-hit-southern-madagascar Southern Madagascar has suffered insufficient rainfall which in turn has caused crop failure, aggravating food insecurity. However, after several years of this pattern, the capacity of communities to bounce back is weakened. The United Nations World Food Programme (WFP) and its partners help them build their resilience to these shocks.      Purchase for Progress Madagascar Local Africa P4P Stories from the field Wed, 03 Jun 2015 14:09:52 +0000 Volana Rarivoson 646611 at https://www.wfp.org 10 Facts About Hunger In Madagascar https://www.wfp.org/stories/10-facts-about-hunger-madagascar Here are ten facts that shed light on the hunger situation in Madagascar. Please help the World Food Programme (WFP) raise awareness by sharing these important facts on Twitter.  Madagascar Global Africa Mon, 18 May 2015 14:11:44 +0000 WFP 646399 at https://www.wfp.org Keeping Hunger At Bay In Drought-hit Southern Madagascar https://www.wfp.org/photos/gallery/alleviating-food-insecurity-southern-madagascar Drought has left thousands of people at risk of hunger in southern Madagascar. WFP is implementing a range of programmes to help alleviate the suffering of the most affected communities.  Madagascar Local Food for Assets Fri, 24 Apr 2015 07:17:33 +0000 WFP 646086 at https://www.wfp.org Crops And Cactus: Madagascar Drought Crisis https://www.wfp.org/stories/crops-and-cactus-madagascar-drought-crisis Nearly 200,00 people are facing hunger in southern Madagascar due to crop failure. The United Nations World Food Programme and its partners are providing much-needed assistance. Disaster Risk Reduction Madagascar Local Africa Climate Change Droughts Wed, 18 Mar 2015 11:34:36 +0000 Volana Rarivoson 645658 at https://www.wfp.org Helping Households Hit By Madagascar Storm https://www.wfp.org/photos/gallery/providing-support-households-affected-storm Tropical storm Chedza hit Madagascar in mid-January. In collaboration with partners, WFP is providing assistance to the most affected households   Madagascar Local Emergencies Wed, 04 Feb 2015 12:08:51 +0000 WFP 645080 at https://www.wfp.org Improving Disasters Preparedness In Madagascar https://www.wfp.org/stories/improving-disasters-preparedness-madagascar Thanks to the generous support of UKAid through the United Kingdom Department for International Development (DFID), the United Nations World Food Programme (WFP) is able to assist the Malagasy Government in improving its national preparedness and response to cyclones.   Disaster Risk Reduction Madagascar Local Africa Tue, 09 Dec 2014 07:20:36 +0000 Riana Ravoala 644352 at https://www.wfp.org Madagascar's Minister Of Education Visits The South https://www.wfp.org/photos/gallery/madagascars-minister-education-visiting-southern-madagascar At the end of October, Madagascar's Minister of Education, Paul Rabary, visited southern Madagascar where most of WFP's activities are implemented. He met WFP beneficiaries and local partners. Madagascar Local School Meals Mon, 10 Nov 2014 12:37:08 +0000 WFP 643944 at https://www.wfp.org Strengthening School Feeding In Madagascar https://www.wfp.org/stories/strengthening-school-feeding-madagascar The Government of Madagascar has made education a key development priority and the Minister of National Education is working to improve access to it by strengthening school feeding activities with the support of the United Nations World Food Programme (WFP). Development Operation (DEV) School Meals Madagascar Local Africa School Meals Mon, 10 Nov 2014 08:47:15 +0000 Volana Rarivoson 643928 at https://www.wfp.org Improving Mothers' Health And Nutrition In Madagascar https://www.wfp.org/photos/gallery/improving-maternal-health-and-nutrition-southern-madagascar WFP and UNFPA, in collaboration with Madagascar’s Ministry of Health and the National Office for Nutrition, work hand in hand to help improve nutrition and women’s access to reproductive health care   Madagascar Global Nutrition Wed, 29 Oct 2014 09:32:33 +0000 WFP 643821 at https://www.wfp.org Helping Mothers And Children Fight Malnutrition In Madagascar https://www.wfp.org/stories/helping-mothers-and-children-fight-malnutrition-madagascar In the south-west of Madagascar, the United Nations World Food Programme (WFP) and the United Nations Fund for Population (UNFPA) work hand in hand to provide nutritional support and improve access to health services for pregnant and nursing women, as well as children under two. Nutrition Madagascar Local Africa Nutrition Fri, 24 Oct 2014 07:36:45 +0000 Volana Rarivoson 643748 at https://www.wfp.org