Skip to main content

Во всем мире до 811 миллионов человек испытывают недостаток в еде. По последним оценкам, 41 миллион человек в 43 странах подвержен риску голода - самой крайней формы голода, которая может привести к смерти от голода или болезней. Некоторые части Йемена, Южного Судана и Мадагаскара могут быть близки к голоду или уже охвачены им.

Последствия питания бедного витаминами, минералами и другими питательными веществами, влияют на здоровье и жизненные перспективы миллионов людей и ставят под угрозу будущее сообществ и целых стран.  

Несмотря на то, что производится достаточно еды, чтобы накормить всех на этой планете, цель избавления мира от голода, сформулированная в Повестке дня в области устойчивого развития на период до 2030 года и, в частности, в Цели устойчивого развития 2, остается чрезвычайно сложной задачей из-за конфликтов, изменения климата, бедствий и структурной бедности и неравенства. За последний год социально-экономические последствия пандемии COVID-19 еще больше усугубили ситуацию, подтолкнув миллионы уязвимых людей к еще большей проблеме отсутствия продовольственной безопасности.

Главные причины голода

Конфиликты

60 процентов голодающих людей в мире живут в зонах, затронутых конфликтом, что является основной причиной 8 из 10 самых серьезных голодных кризисов (как в случае Йемена, Южного Судана, Демократической Республики Конго и Сирии, для пример).

Что мы делаем

Продовольственная помощь и питание
Syria, Aleppo. Children join their parents in line, or are sent to collect bread alone before going to school. Photo: WFP/Hussam Al Saleh

ВПП ООН оказывает жизненно важную продовольственную помощь людям, перемещенным в результате боевых действий, где бы они ни находились. С помощью местных партнеров мы достигаем нуждающихся даже в самых отдаленных районах, используя вездеходы и сбрасывая продукты с самолетов, когда невозможно использовать другие методы транспортировки.

Наша помощь может помочь проложить путь к миру, о чем свидетельствует присуждение ВПП ООН Нобелевской премии мира в 2020 году.

Перспективы на мир
Mitib Ibrahim (L) and Mohammed Jama'a (R) are from different tribes and got to know each other working together on the rehabilitation of an irrigation canal in Ramadi. Photo: WFP/David Orr

Предварительные результаты совместного исследования со Стокгольмским международным институтом исследования проблем мира показали, что работа ВПП ООН способствовала улучшению перспектив мира за счет расширения доступа к оспариваемым природным ресурсам, повышения социальной сплоченности и разрешения проблем внутри сообществ и между ними, одновременно увеличивая возможности и доверие между людьми. и правительство через усиление государственной подотчетности и предоставления услуг. Исследование было сосредоточено на Сальвадоре, Ираке, Кыргызстане и Мали.

Изменение климата

Связанные с изменением климата потрясения, такие как наводнения или засуха, влияют на жизнь и средства к существованию миллионов людей, усугубляя нищету, голод и социальную напряженность. ВПП ООН помогает правительствам и сообществам осознать эти возрастающие риски и принять целевые меры для управления воздействием климатических потрясений на продовольственную безопасность.

Что мы делаем

Финансирование на основе прогнозов
WFP staff explain the registration process to the members of Irosin community who are participating in the forecast-based financing project. Photo: WFP Philippines/Arete

Финансирование на основе прогнозов ВПП ООН использует улучшенные методы раннего предупреждения, основанное на прогнозах погоды, поэтому сообщества могут быть предупреждены о климатических и других потрясениях за 15 дней и обеспечены страховкой для принятия подготовительных мер.

Энергетические решения, не влияющие на климат
Rwanda. School cook, Felicien Rwatangaro. Photo: WFP/Daniel Kibsgaard

Чтобы люди могли безопасно готовить и употреблять пищу, ВПП ООН обеспечивает доступ к современным решениям для приготовления пищи, таким как газовые плиты, мини-газификаторы или электрические скороварки. ВПП ООН также стремится расширить возможности мелких фермеров за счет устойчивого распространения энергетического оборудования и услуг для производственных нужд, чтобы стимулировать развитие сельскохозяйственного рынка.

Стихийные бедствия

Когда происходит землетрясение, циклон, ураган или другое стихийное бедствие, ВПП ООН оказывает первую помощь, доставляя продовольствие и другую жизненно важную помощь населению.

Что мы делаем

Логистика
Logistics Officers check personal protective equipment (PPE) being offloaded at the temperature controlled warehouse in Lologo, Juba. Photo: WFP/Giulio d'Adamo

В качестве лидера межучрежденческого логистического кластера ВПП ООН обеспечивает координацию и управление информацией при реагировании на крупномасштабные бедствия.

Связь
Haiti, Port au Prince. Telecommunications mast. Photo: WFP/Rein Skullerud

ВПП ООН возглавляет кластер электросвязи, который обеспечивает жизненно важную связь в чрезвычайных ситуациях. Группа быстрого реагирования на чрезвычайные ситуации в области информационных технологий и телекоммуникаций ВПП ООН готова к развертыванию в любой точке мира для создания и восстановления сетей связи и информационных технологий.

Геопространственный анализ
Geospatial analysis. GIS image.

Targeted geospatial analyses show the immediate impact of natural disasters and allow for a faster response matched to needs. Our Geographic Information Systems tools such as ADAM (Automatic Disaster Analysis & Mapping) provide 24/7 mapping of earthquakes and tropical cyclones.

 

Неравенство

Неравенство вызывает голод, ограничивая возможности людей и увеличивая уровень голода. Расширение доступа к занятости, финансам и рынкам может очень быстро вывести людей из нищеты, повысить их производительность и покупательную способность, а также стимулировать местные рынки.

Что мы делаем

Продовольственная помощь за работу
Kakhobwe's irrigation scheme, under DFID funded Prosper programme in Malawi. Photo: WFP/Badre Bahaji

В программе ВПП ООН «Продовольствие в обмен на активы» участвуют люди, работающие над общественными проектами, такими как восстановление непродуктивных земель, в обмен на деньги или продукты питания. Альянс от фермерских хозяйств к рынку, ориентированный на частный сектор, связывает мелких землевладельцев с рынками и помогает им диверсифицировать урожай и повысить их деловой потенциал.

Денежные переводы
Malawi. WFP distributing cash to urban and rural households affected by climate shocks and economic effects of COVID-19. Photo: WFP/Badre Bahaji

Там, где функционируют рынки и финансовые системы, ВПП ООН оказывает помощь наличными. Будь то банкноты, ваучеры, дебетовые карты, электронные деньги или мобильные деньги, денежные переводы позволяют людям делать выбор, улучшающий их продовольственную безопасность и питание, и вливать наличные деньги в местную экономику.

Сети социальной защиты
Local school authorities and WFP distribute Take-Home Rations (THR) among school children and their parents in La Guajira department, Colombia. Photo: WFP/Miller Choles

ВПП ООН поддерживает правительства в укреплении сетей социальной защиты, которые у них есть для защиты своих граждан от бедности, неравенства и отсутствия продовольственной безопасности. Мы также работаем над повышением способности этих систем реагировать на потрясения, такие как бедствия или массовые перемещения населения.

Продовольственные потери

Плохие складские помещения на фермах приводят к заражению вредителями и поражению урожая плесенью. Отсутствие доступа к технологиям и рынкам означает, что многие фермеры вынуждены смотреть, как их урожай гниет на полях, поскольку для их сбора часто не хватает рабочей силы и финансовых вложений.

Что мы делаем

Нулевые послеуборочные потери
Malawi. Stop the Waste. Storing food in the warehouse. Photo: WFP/Badre Bahaji

Проект ВПП ООН «Нулевые послеуборочные потери» помогает мелким фермерам научиться использовать улучшенные методы послеуборочной обработки в сочетании с простым, но эффективным герметичным складским оборудованием для защиты урожая от насекомых, грызунов, плесени и влаги.

COVID-19

Пандемия COVID-19 подтолкнула миллионы людей к проблеме отсутствия продовольственной безопасности, нарушив производство, торговлю и источники средств к существованию, оставив миллионы без работы.

Что мы делаем

Общие службы
UNHRD Panama is preparing to dispatch consignments of Personal protective equipment (PPE) items for WHO. Photo: WFP/Elio Rujano

ВПП ООН создала общие службы - глобальные службы по перемещению пассажиров и грузов - позволяющие доставлять гуманитарный персонал, продовольствие и медикаменты уязвимым людям во всем мире, которые в противном случае были бы лишены поддержки, когда они больше всего в ней нуждались.

Продовольственная и денежная помощь
WFP food card helps 800 LGBTI households through the pandemic. Photo: WFP/Hetze Tosta

Чтобы удовлетворить возросшие потребности, вызванные социально-экономическими последствиями пандемии COVID-19, ВПП ООН увеличила объем денежной и продовольственной помощи и поддержала правительства в укреплении их собственных сетей социальной защиты.

Skip to main content

Across the world, up to 811 million people do not have enough food. According to recent estimates, 45 million people in 43 countries are at risk of sliding into famine – the most extreme form of hunger, which can result in death from starvation or disease. Indeed, parts of  Yemen, South Sudan and Madagascar may be close to or are already in the grip of famine. 

The consequence of diets poor in vitamins, minerals and other nutrients are affecting the health and life prospects of millions more, and casting a shadow over the future of communities and entire countries.  

Although enough food is produced to feed everyone on this planet, the goal of a world with zero hunger, as set out in the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development and specifically in Sustainable Development Goal 2, remains hugely challenging due to a toxic cocktail of conflict, climate change, disasters and structural poverty and inequality. Over the past year, the socio-economic consequences of the COVID-19 pandemic have further exacerbated the situation by pushing millions of vulnerable people into greater food insecurity. 

Chief drivers of hunger

Conflict

60 percent of the world’s hungry people live in zones affected by conflict, which is the main driver in 8 out of 10 of the worst hunger crises (as in the case of Yemen, South Sudan, the Democratic Republic of the Congo and Syria, for example).

What we are doing

Food and nutrition assistance
Syria, Aleppo. Children join their parents in line, or are sent to collect bread alone before going to school. Photo: WFP/Hussam Al Saleh

WFP brings life-saving food and nutrition assistance to people trapped or displaced by fighting, wherever they are. With the help of local partners, we reach those in need even in the most remote areas, using all-terrain vehicles and dropping food from planes when all other avenues are closed.

Our assistance can help create pathways to peace, as recognized in the awarding of the Nobel Peace Prize to WFP in 2020.

Prospects for peace
Mitib Ibrahim (L) and Mohammed Jama'a (R) are from different tribes and got to know each other working together on the rehabilitation of an irrigation canal in Ramadi. Photo: WFP/David Orr

Preliminary findings from a joint research study with the Stockholm International Peace Research Institute indicated that WFP’s work contributed to improving prospects for peace by enhancing access to contested natural resources, boosting social cohesion and resolving grievances within and between communities, while increasing opportunities and trust between people and government through strengthening state accountability and service delivery. The study focused on El Salvador, Iraq, Kyrgyzstan and Mali.

Climate change

Climate change-related shocks such as floods or drought affect the lives and livelihoods of millions of people, aggravating poverty, hunger and social tensions. WFP helps governments and communities to understand these increasing risks and to take targeted measures to manage the impact of climate shocks on food security.

What we are doing

Forecast-based financing
WFP staff explain the registration process to the members of Irosin community who are participating in the forecast-based financing project. Photo: WFP Philippines/Arete

WFP’s Forecast-based Financing uses improved early warning based on weather forecasts, so communities can be alerted to climate-related and other shocks 15 days in advance and provided with insurance to take preparatory measures.

Climate-smart energy solutions
Rwanda. School cook, Felicien Rwatangaro. Photo: WFP/Daniel Kibsgaard

To ensure people can cook and consume food safely, WFP facilitates access to modern cooking solutions – such as gas stoves, mini-gasifiers or electric pressure cookers. WFP also strives to empower smallholder farmers through the sustainable dissemination of energy equipment and services for productive uses to boost agricultural market development.

Disasters

When an earthquake, cyclone, a hurricane or other disaster strikes, WFP is a first responder, bringing food and other life-saving assistance to populations that have lost everything.

What we are doing

Logistics
Logistics Officers check personal protective equipment (PPE) being offloaded at the temperature controlled warehouse in Lologo, Juba. Photo: WFP/Giulio d'Adamo

As the leader of the inter-agency Logistics cluster, WFP provides coordination and information management in the response to large-scale disasters.

Connectivity
Haiti, Port au Prince. Telecommunications mast. Photo: WFP/Rein Skullerud

WFP leads the Emergency Telecommunications Cluster, which provides life-saving connectivity in emergency situations. WFP’s Fast IT and Telecommunications Emergency and Support Team of responders (FITTEST) is ready to deploy anywhere in the world to establish and restore communications and information technology networks.

Geospatial analyses
Geospatial analysis. GIS image.

Targeted geospatial analyses show the immediate impact of natural disasters and allow for a faster response matched to needs. Our Geographic Information Systems tools such as ADAM (Automatic Disaster Analysis & Mapping) provide 24/7 mapping of earthquakes and tropical cyclones.

Inequality

Inequality drives hunger by limiting people's opportunities and increasing levels of hunger. Increasing access to employment, finance and markets, for example, can lift people out of poverty very quickly, increasing their productivity and spending power and stimulating local markets.

What we are doing

Food assistance for assets
Kakhobwe's irrigation scheme, under DFID funded Prosper programme in Malawi. Photo: WFP/Badre Bahaji

WFP’s Food Assistance for Assets programme involves people working on community projects such as restoring unproductive land, in return for cash or food. The private sector-focused Farm to Market Alliance connects smallholders to markets and helps them diversify their crops and increase their business potential.

Cash transfers
Malawi. WFP distributing cash to urban and rural households affected by climate shocks and economic effects of COVID-19. Photo: WFP/Badre Bahaji

Where markets and financial systems are functioning, WFP provides assistance in cash. Whether in the form of bank notes, vouchers, debit cards, e-money or mobile money, cash transfers allow people to make choices that improve their food security and nutrition, and inject cash into the local economy.

Social safety nets
Local school authorities and WFP distribute Take-Home Rations (THR) among school children and their parents in La Guajira department, Colombia. Photo: WFP/Miller Choles

WFP supports governments in strengthening the social safety nets they have in place to protect their citizens from poverty, inequality and food insecurity. We also work to enhance the ability of these systems to respond to shocks such as disasters or mass population displacements.

Food loss

Poor storage facilities in farms lead to pest infestations and mould ruining crops. Lack of access to technology and markets means many farmers are forced to watch their crops rot in fields as the labour and financial investment required to harvest them is often unavailable.

What we are doing

Zero post-harvest losses
Malawi. Stop the Waste. Storing food in the warehouse. Photo: WFP/Badre Bahaji

WFP’s Zero Post-Harvest Losses project helps smallholder farmers learn how to use improved post-harvest handling methods, combined with simple but effective hermetic storage equipment to protect crops against insects, rodents, mould and moisture.

COVID-19

The COVID-19 pandemic has pushed millions more people into food insecurity by disrupting production, trade and livelihoods, putting millions out of work.

What we are doing

Common services
UNHRD Panama is preparing to dispatch consignments of Personal protective equipment (PPE) items for WHO. Photo: WFP/Elio Rujano

WFP set up Common Services – global passenger and cargo movement services – allowing humanitarian staff and food and health supplies to reach vulnerable people around the world who would otherwise be cut off from support when they needed it most.

Food and cash assistance
WFP food card helps 800 LGBTI households through the pandemic. Photo: WFP/Hetze Tosta

To address the increased needs created by the socio-economic effects of the COVID-19 pandemic, WFP has stepped up its cash and food assistance, and supported governments in strengthening their own social safety nets.