Skip to main content

在这个世界上,高达8.11亿人没有足够的食物。根据最新的估计数据,来自43个国家的4500万人有可能陷入饥荒——饥荒是最极端的饥饿形式,可能导致饿死或病死。事实上,也门、南苏丹和马达加斯加的部分地区可能接近或已经处于饥荒的边缘。 

饮食中缺乏维生素、矿物质和其他营养物质造成的后果正在影响另外数百万人的健康和生活前景,并给社区和整个国家的未来蒙上阴影。  

尽管全球生产的粮食足以养活地球上的每一个人,但由于冲突、气候变化、灾害以及结构性贫困和不平等带来的不利影响,实现2030年可持续发展议程,特别是可持续发展目标2中设定的零饥饿世界的目标,仍然具有巨大的挑战性。在过去的一年里,新冠疫情的社会经济影响进一步加剧了这种情况,使数百万弱势人群陷入更严重的粮食不安全状况之中。 

饥饿问题的主要原因

冲突

世界上60%的饥饿人口生活在受冲突影响的地区。在10个最严重的饥饿危机中,冲突是导致其中8个饥饿危机的主要原因(例如,也门、南苏丹、刚果民主共和国和叙利亚的情况)。

我们正在做什么

粮食和营养援助
叙利亚阿勒波。孩子们与他们的父母一起排队,或者在上学前被派去单独领取面包。照片:世界粮食计划署/Hussam Al Saleh

世界粮食计划署将拯救生命的粮食和营养援助带给那些因战斗而被困或流离失所的人们,无论他们身在何处。在当地合作伙伴的帮助下,我们甚至使用全地形车为最偏远地区的穷困人员提供帮助,并在所有其他道路封闭的情况下通过飞机空投食物。 我们的援助有利于创造和平之路,正如2020年世界粮食计划署获得诺贝尔和平奖时所公认的那样。

和平前景
Mitib Ibrahim(左)和Mohammed Jama'a(右)来自不同的部落,他们在一起修复拉马迪一条灌溉渠时认识了彼此。照片:世界粮食计划署/David Orr

与斯德哥尔摩国际和平研究所一起开展的一项联合研究的初步结果表明,世界粮食计划署的工作有助于改善和平的前景,因为它加强了对有争议自然资源的获取,提高了社会凝聚力,解决了社区内部和社区之间的不满,同时通过加强政府问责制和服务提供,增加了人民和政府之间的信任。这项研究专注于萨尔瓦多、伊拉克、吉尔吉斯斯坦和马里。

气候变化

洪水或干旱等与气候变化有关的冲击影响着数百万人的生命和生计,加剧了贫困、饥饿和社会紧张。世界粮食计划署帮助政府和社区了解这些日益增加的风险,并采取有针对性的措施来应对气候冲击对粮食安全的影响。

我们正在做什么

基于预测的融资
世界粮食计划署的工作人员向参加预测性融资项目的Irosin社区成员解释登记程序。照片:世界粮食计划署菲律宾办事处/Arete

世界粮食计划署基于预测的融资使用基于天气预报的改进型早期预警,因此社区可以提前15天得到有关气候相关冲击和其他冲击的提醒,并获得保险来采取预防措施。

气候智能型能源解决方案
卢旺达。学校厨师,Felicien Rwatangaro。照片:世界粮食计划署/Daniel Kibsgaard

为确保人们能够安全地烹饪和用餐,世界粮食计划署为人们获取燃气灶、迷你气化炉或电压力锅等现代烹饪方案提供便利。世界粮食计划署还以可持续的方式传播用于生产的能源设备和服务,赋能小农户,以促进农业市场的发展。

灾害

当地震、龙卷风、飓风或其他灾害发生时,世界粮食计划署是最先做出应对的机构,为失去一切的人们带来粮食和其他救生援助。

我们正在做什么

物流
负责物流人员在朱巴Lologo温控仓库检查正在卸下的个人防护装备。照片:世界粮食计划署/Giulio d'Adamo

作为机构间物流集群的领导者, 世界粮食计划署在应对大规模灾害时提供协调和信息管理。

连接性
海地太子港。电信桅杆。照片:世界粮食计划署/Rein Skullerud

世界粮食计划署领导应急通信群组, 在紧急情况下提供拯救生命的通信服务。世界粮食计划署的快速信息技术和通讯应急和支持团队(FITTEST)时刻准备在世界任何地方实施部署,以建立并恢复通信与信息技术网络。

地理空间分析
地理空间分析。地理信息系统图像。

针对性的地理空间分析显示自然灾害的直接影响,有助于提供满足救灾需求的快速响应。我们的地理信息系统工具,如自动灾害分析和绘图(ADAM),提供全天候的地震和热带气旋绘图。

不平等

不平等限制了人们的机会并增加饥饿程度,加剧了饥饿状况。例如,增加获得就业、金融和市场准入的机会,可以帮助人们迅速摆脱贫困,提高他们的生产力和消费能力,刺激当地市场。

我们正在做什么

粮食换资产
在英国国际发展部(DFID)资助的马拉维Prosper项目下开展的Kakhobwe灌溉计划。照片:世界粮食计划署/Badre Bahaji

世界粮食计划署的粮食换资产倡议面向那些从事社区项目的人们,例如恢复非生产性土地,让他们通过劳动换取现金或粮食。专注于私营部门的“农场到市场联盟”将小农户与市场联系起来,帮助他们实现作物多样化,提高其商业潜力。

现金转移
马拉维。世界粮食计划署向受气候冲击和新冠疫情经济影响的城市和农村家庭发放现金。照片:世界粮食计划署/Badre Bahaji

在市场和金融系统运作的地方,世界粮食计划署提供现金援助。无论是以纸币、代金券、借记卡、电子货币还是移动货币的形式,现金转移让人们能够做出选择,改善他们的粮食安全和营养,并为当地经济注入现金。

社会安全网
哥伦比亚拉瓜吉拉省当地学校当局和世界粮食计划署在学童及其家长中分发带回家的口粮。照片:世界粮食计划署/Miller Choles

世界粮食计划署支持各国政府加强其现有的社会安全网,以保护其公民免受贫困、不平等和粮食不安全的影响。我们还致力于提高这些系统应对灾害或大规模人口流离失所等冲击的能力。

粮食损耗

农场储存设施差会导致虫害和霉菌毁坏农作物。缺乏技术和市场意味着许多农民被迫眼睁睁地看着他们的农作物在田间腐烂,因为他们往往没有收获农作物所需的劳动力和财政投资。

我们正在做什么

零产后损失
马拉维。杜绝浪费。在仓库里储存粮食。照片:世界粮食计划署/Badre Bahaji

世界粮食计划署的“零产后损失”项目帮助小农户学习如何使用改良的产后处理方法,并结合简单而有效的密封储存设备,保护农作物免受昆虫、啮齿动物、霉菌和水分的侵害。

新冠疫情

新冠疫情扰乱了生产、贸易和生计,使数百万人失业,已经导致上百万人陷入粮食不安全状况。

我们正在做什么

公共服务
联合国人道主义应急仓库巴拿马办事处正准备为世卫组织派发个人防护物品。照片:世界粮食计划署/Elio Rujano

世界粮食计划署建立公共服务——全球客运和货运服务——使人道主义工作人员和粮食及卫生用品能够到达世界各地的弱势人群身边,否则他们在最需要帮助的时候会被切断支持。

粮食和现金援助
世界粮食计划署的食品卡帮助800个LGBTI(女同性恋者、男同性恋者、双性恋者、跨性别者和间性者)家庭度过疫情。照片:世界粮食计划署/Hetze Tosta

.为了应对新冠疫情的社会经济影响所带来的更多需求,世界粮食计划署已增加了现金和粮食援助,并支持各国政府加强自己的社会安全网。

Skip to main content

Across the world, up to 811 million people do not have enough food. According to recent estimates, 45 million people in 43 countries are at risk of sliding into famine – the most extreme form of hunger, which can result in death from starvation or disease. Indeed, parts of  Yemen, South Sudan and Madagascar may be close to or are already in the grip of famine. 

The consequence of diets poor in vitamins, minerals and other nutrients are affecting the health and life prospects of millions more, and casting a shadow over the future of communities and entire countries.  

Although enough food is produced to feed everyone on this planet, the goal of a world with zero hunger, as set out in the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development and specifically in Sustainable Development Goal 2, remains hugely challenging due to a toxic cocktail of conflict, climate change, disasters and structural poverty and inequality. Over the past year, the socio-economic consequences of the COVID-19 pandemic have further exacerbated the situation by pushing millions of vulnerable people into greater food insecurity. 

Chief drivers of hunger

Conflict

60 percent of the world’s hungry people live in zones affected by conflict, which is the main driver in 8 out of 10 of the worst hunger crises (as in the case of Yemen, South Sudan, the Democratic Republic of the Congo and Syria, for example).

What we are doing

Food and nutrition assistance
Syria, Aleppo. Children join their parents in line, or are sent to collect bread alone before going to school. Photo: WFP/Hussam Al Saleh

WFP brings life-saving food and nutrition assistance to people trapped or displaced by fighting, wherever they are. With the help of local partners, we reach those in need even in the most remote areas, using all-terrain vehicles and dropping food from planes when all other avenues are closed.

Our assistance can help create pathways to peace, as recognized in the awarding of the Nobel Peace Prize to WFP in 2020.

Prospects for peace
Mitib Ibrahim (L) and Mohammed Jama'a (R) are from different tribes and got to know each other working together on the rehabilitation of an irrigation canal in Ramadi. Photo: WFP/David Orr

Preliminary findings from a joint research study with the Stockholm International Peace Research Institute indicated that WFP’s work contributed to improving prospects for peace by enhancing access to contested natural resources, boosting social cohesion and resolving grievances within and between communities, while increasing opportunities and trust between people and government through strengthening state accountability and service delivery. The study focused on El Salvador, Iraq, Kyrgyzstan and Mali.

Climate change

Climate change-related shocks such as floods or drought affect the lives and livelihoods of millions of people, aggravating poverty, hunger and social tensions. WFP helps governments and communities to understand these increasing risks and to take targeted measures to manage the impact of climate shocks on food security.

What we are doing

Forecast-based financing
WFP staff explain the registration process to the members of Irosin community who are participating in the forecast-based financing project. Photo: WFP Philippines/Arete

WFP’s Forecast-based Financing uses improved early warning based on weather forecasts, so communities can be alerted to climate-related and other shocks 15 days in advance and provided with insurance to take preparatory measures.

Climate-smart energy solutions
Rwanda. School cook, Felicien Rwatangaro. Photo: WFP/Daniel Kibsgaard

To ensure people can cook and consume food safely, WFP facilitates access to modern cooking solutions – such as gas stoves, mini-gasifiers or electric pressure cookers. WFP also strives to empower smallholder farmers through the sustainable dissemination of energy equipment and services for productive uses to boost agricultural market development.

Disasters

When an earthquake, cyclone, a hurricane or other disaster strikes, WFP is a first responder, bringing food and other life-saving assistance to populations that have lost everything.

What we are doing

Logistics
Logistics Officers check personal protective equipment (PPE) being offloaded at the temperature controlled warehouse in Lologo, Juba. Photo: WFP/Giulio d'Adamo

As the leader of the inter-agency Logistics cluster, WFP provides coordination and information management in the response to large-scale disasters.

Connectivity
Haiti, Port au Prince. Telecommunications mast. Photo: WFP/Rein Skullerud

WFP leads the Emergency Telecommunications Cluster, which provides life-saving connectivity in emergency situations. WFP’s Fast IT and Telecommunications Emergency and Support Team of responders (FITTEST) is ready to deploy anywhere in the world to establish and restore communications and information technology networks.

Geospatial analyses
Geospatial analysis. GIS image.

Targeted geospatial analyses show the immediate impact of natural disasters and allow for a faster response matched to needs. Our Geographic Information Systems tools such as ADAM (Automatic Disaster Analysis & Mapping) provide 24/7 mapping of earthquakes and tropical cyclones.

Inequality

Inequality drives hunger by limiting people's opportunities and increasing levels of hunger. Increasing access to employment, finance and markets, for example, can lift people out of poverty very quickly, increasing their productivity and spending power and stimulating local markets.

What we are doing

Food assistance for assets
Kakhobwe's irrigation scheme, under DFID funded Prosper programme in Malawi. Photo: WFP/Badre Bahaji

WFP’s Food Assistance for Assets programme involves people working on community projects such as restoring unproductive land, in return for cash or food. The private sector-focused Farm to Market Alliance connects smallholders to markets and helps them diversify their crops and increase their business potential.

Cash transfers
Malawi. WFP distributing cash to urban and rural households affected by climate shocks and economic effects of COVID-19. Photo: WFP/Badre Bahaji

Where markets and financial systems are functioning, WFP provides assistance in cash. Whether in the form of bank notes, vouchers, debit cards, e-money or mobile money, cash transfers allow people to make choices that improve their food security and nutrition, and inject cash into the local economy.

Social safety nets
Local school authorities and WFP distribute Take-Home Rations (THR) among school children and their parents in La Guajira department, Colombia. Photo: WFP/Miller Choles

WFP supports governments in strengthening the social safety nets they have in place to protect their citizens from poverty, inequality and food insecurity. We also work to enhance the ability of these systems to respond to shocks such as disasters or mass population displacements.

Food loss

Poor storage facilities in farms lead to pest infestations and mould ruining crops. Lack of access to technology and markets means many farmers are forced to watch their crops rot in fields as the labour and financial investment required to harvest them is often unavailable.

What we are doing

Zero post-harvest losses
Malawi. Stop the Waste. Storing food in the warehouse. Photo: WFP/Badre Bahaji

WFP’s Zero Post-Harvest Losses project helps smallholder farmers learn how to use improved post-harvest handling methods, combined with simple but effective hermetic storage equipment to protect crops against insects, rodents, mould and moisture.

COVID-19

The COVID-19 pandemic has pushed millions more people into food insecurity by disrupting production, trade and livelihoods, putting millions out of work.

What we are doing

Common services
UNHRD Panama is preparing to dispatch consignments of Personal protective equipment (PPE) items for WHO. Photo: WFP/Elio Rujano

WFP set up Common Services – global passenger and cargo movement services – allowing humanitarian staff and food and health supplies to reach vulnerable people around the world who would otherwise be cut off from support when they needed it most.

Food and cash assistance
WFP food card helps 800 LGBTI households through the pandemic. Photo: WFP/Hetze Tosta

To address the increased needs created by the socio-economic effects of the COVID-19 pandemic, WFP has stepped up its cash and food assistance, and supported governments in strengthening their own social safety nets.