Skip to main content

هناك نحو 811 مليون شخص في جميع أنحاء العالم ليس لديهم ما يكفيهم من الطعام. ووفقًا للتقديرات الأخيرة، يواجه 45 مليون شخص في 43 دولة خطر الانزلاق إلى المجاعة - وهي أقسى أشكال الجوع، والتي قد تؤدي إلى الموت بسبب التضور جوعاً أو المرض. بالفعل، هناك أجزاء من اليمن وجنوب السودان ومدغشقر على حافة المجاعة أو ربما وقعت بالفعل في قبضة المجاعة.

تؤثر تبعات النظم الغذائية التي تفتقر إلى الفيتامينات والمعادن والمواد المغذية الأخرى على الصحة حياة ملايين آخرين، وتلقي بظلالها على مستقبل هذه المجتمعات وبلدان بأكملها.

على الرغم من إنتاج ما يكفي من الغذاء لإطعام جميع من على هذا الكوكب، يظل هدف عالم خالٍ من الجوع، المنصوص عليه في خطة التنمية المستدامة لعام 2030 وتحديداً في الهدف 2 من أهداف التنمية المستدامة، بمثابة تحد كبير نظرًا للمزيج السام من النزاعات، وتغير المناخ والكوارث والفقر وعدم المساواة. على مدار العام الماضي، أدت التبعات الاجتماعية والاقتصادية لجائحة كورونا إلى تفاقم الوضع من خلال دفع الملايين من الأشخاص الضعفاء إلى مواجهة المزيد من انعدام الأمن الغذائي.

المسببات الرئيسية للجوع

النزاع

يعيش 60 في المائة من جوعى العالم في مناطق متأثرة بالنزاعات، وتعد النزاعات السبب الرئيس في 8 من أصل 10 من أسوأ أزمات الجوع (كما هي الحال في اليمن وجنوب السودان وجمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية وسوريا، على سبيل المثال).

ما الذي نقوم به

المساعدات الغذائية والتغذوية
Syria, Aleppo. Children join their parents in line, or are sent to collect bread alone before going to school. Photo: WFP/Hussam Al Saleh

يقدم برنامج الأغذية العالمي المساعدات الغذائية والتغذوية المنقذة لحياة الأشخاص المحاصرين أو النازحين بسبب القتال أينما كانوا. بمساعدة الشركاء المحليين، نتمكن من الوصول إلى المحتاجين حتى في المناطق النائية، باستخدام مركبات تصلح لجميع أنواع التضاريس وبإسقاط الأغذية من الطائرات في حالة إغلاق جميع الطرق الأخرى.

يمكن لمساعدتنا المساهمة في تمهيد الطريق للسلام، مثلما حدث في عام 2020 عندما تم منح جائزة نوبل للسلام لبرنامج الأغذية العالمي.

آفاق السلام
Mitib Ibrahim (L) and Mohammed Jama'a (R) are from different tribes and got to know each other working together on the rehabilitation of an irrigation canal in Ramadi. Photo: WFP/David Orr

أشارت النتائج الأولية لدراسة بحثية مشتركة مع معهد ستوكهولم الدولي لبحوث السلام إلى أن عمل البرنامج قد ساهم في تحسين آفاق السلام من خلال تعزيز الوصول إلى الموارد الطبيعية المتنازع عليها، وتعزيز التماسك الاجتماعي وتسوية النزاعات داخل المجتمعات وفيما بينها، مع زيادة الفرص والثقة بين الشعوب والحكومات من خلال تعزيز مسؤولية الدولة وتقديم الخدمات. ركزت الدراسة على السلفادور والعراق وقيرغيزستان ومالي.

التغير المناخي

تؤثر الصدمات المرتبطة بتغير المناخ مثل الفيضانات أو الجفاف على حياة وسبل عيش الملايين من الناس، مما قد يؤدي إلى تفاقم الفقر والجوع والتوترات الاجتماعية. يساعد البرنامج الحكومات والمجتمعات على فهم هذه المخاطر المتزايدة واتخاذ تدابير مُوَجَّهة لإدارة تأثير الصدمات المناخية على الأمن الغذائي.

ما الذي نقوم به

التمويل القائم على التنبؤ
WFP staff explain the registration process to the members of Irosin community who are participating in the forecast-based financing project. Photo: WFP Philippines/Arete

يستخدم التمويل القائم على التنبؤ الخاص بالبرنامج نظام الإنذار المبكِّر المُحسّن القائم على التنبؤات الجوية، بحيث يمكن تنبيه المجتمعات إلى الصدمات المتعلقة بالمناخ والصدمات الأخرى قبل 15 يومًا وتزويدها بالتأمين اللازم لاتخاذ الإجراءات التحضيرية.

حلول الطاقة المناخية الذكية
Rwanda. School cook, Felicien Rwatangaro. Photo: WFP/Daniel Kibsgaard

لضمان قدرة الناس على طهي الطعام واستهلاكه بأمان، يُسهل البرنامج عملية الوصول إلى حلول الطهي الحديثة - مثل مواقد الغاز أو اسطوانات الغاز الصغيرة أو أفران الضغط الكهربائية. كما يسعى البرنامج إلى تمكين صغار المزارعين من خلال النشر المستدام لمعدات وخدمات الطاقة اللازمة في الاستخدامات الإنتاجية بهدف تعزيز تنمية الأسواق الزراعية.

الكوارث

عند وقوع زلزال أو إعصار أو أي كارثة أخرى، يكون البرنامج أول المستجيبين له، حيث يقدم الغذاء والمساعدات الأخرى المنقذة لحياة السكان الذين فقدوا كل شيء.

ما الذي نقوم به

الخدمات اللوجستية
Logistics Officers check personal protective equipment (PPE) being offloaded at the temperature controlled warehouse in Lologo, Juba. Photo: WFP/Giulio d'Adamo

بصفته قائد مجموعة اللوجستيات بين الوكالات الأممية، يوفر البرنامج التنسيق وإدارة المعلومات للاستجابة للكوارث الواسعة النطاق.

الاتصالات
Haiti, Port au Prince. Telecommunications mast. Photo: WFP/Rein Skullerud

يقود البرنامج مجموعة الاتصالات في حالات الطوارئ، والتي توفر الاتصال المنقذ للحياة في حالات الطوارئ. يكون فريق الدعم السريع لتكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات في حالات الطوارئ التابع للبرنامج جاهزًا للتوظيف في أي مكان في العالم من أجل إنشاء واستعادة شبكات الاتصالات وتكنولوجيا المعلومات هناك.

التحليلات الجغرافية المكانية
Geospatial analysis. GIS image.

تُظهر التحليلات الجغرافية المكانية المُوَجَّهة التأثير المباشر للكوارث الطبيعية وتسمح بتقديم استجابة أسرع تتناسب مع الاحتياجات. توفر أدوات أنظمة المعلومات الجغرافية الخاصة بنا مثل ADAM (التحليل التلقائي للكوارث ورسم الخرائط) خرائط على مدار الساعة طوال أيام الأسبوع للزلازل والأعاصير المدارية.

عدم المساواة

تؤدي عدم المساواة إلى الجوع وذلك من خلال تقليص فرص الأفراد وزيادة مستويات الجوع. من الممكن أن تؤدي زيادة فرص التوظيف والتمويل والوصول إلى الأسواق، على سبيل المثال، في انتشال الناس من براثن الفقر سريعًا، وتزيد من إنتاجيتهم وقدرتهم الشرائية وتحفز الأسواق المحلية.

ما الذي نقوم به

المساعدة الغذائية مقابل بناء الأصول
Kakhobwe's irrigation scheme, under DFID funded Prosper programme in Malawi. Photo: WFP/Badre Bahaji

يشمل برنامج المساعدة الغذائية مقابل بناء الأصول التابع لبرنامج الأغذية العالمي الأشخاص الذين يعملون في مشاريع مجتمعية مثل استصلاح الأراضي القاحلة مقابل المال أو الطعام. يربط "تحالف من المزرعة إلى السوق" الذي يستهدف القطاع الخاص بين أصحاب الحيازات الصغيرة والأسواق ويساعدهم على تنويع محاصيلهم وزيادة إمكاناتهم التجارية.

التحويلات النقدية
Malawi. WFP distributing cash to urban and rural households affected by climate shocks and economic effects of COVID-19. Photo: WFP/Badre Bahaji

حيثما تتواجد الأسواق والنظم المالية، يقدم البرنامج المساعدة النقدية. سواء كانت في شكل أوراق نقدية أو قسائم أو بطاقات خصم أو نقود إلكترونية أو تحويلات نقدية عبر الجوال، تتيح التحويلات النقدية للأشخاص اتخاذ خيارات من شأنها تحسين أمنهم الغذائي وتغذيتهم، وتساعد في ضخ النقود في الاقتصاد المحلي.

شبكات الأمان الاجتماعي
Local school authorities and WFP distribute Take-Home Rations (THR) among school children and their parents in La Guajira department, Colombia. Photo: WFP/Miller Choles

يدعم البرنامج الحكومات في تعزيز شبكات الأمان الاجتماعي الموجودة لديها بهدف حماية مواطنيها من الفقر وعدم المساواة وانعدام الأمن الغذائي. نحن نعمل أيضًا على تعزيز قدرة هذه الأنظمة على الاستجابة للصدمات مثل الكوارث أو النزوح الجماعي للسكان.

فقدان الطعام

تؤدي مرافق التخزين السيئة في المزارع إلى انتشار الآفات والعفن الذي يدمر المحاصيل. قد يُجبر الافتقار إلى التكنولوجيا وصعوبة الوصول للأسواق المزارعين على مشاهدة محاصيلهم وهي تتعفن في الحقول نظرًا لأن العمالة والاستثمار المالي المطلوب لحصادها غالبًا ما يتعذر توفيره.

ما الذي نقوم به

الحد من خسائر ما بعد الحصاد
Malawi. Stop the Waste. Storing food in the warehouse. Photo: WFP/Badre Bahaji

يساعد هذا المشروع التابع للبرنامج المزارعين أصحاب الحيازات الصغيرة على تعلم كيفية استخدام أساليب المناولة المحسنة لما بعد الحصاد، علاوة على تعليمهم كيفية الاستعانة بأدوات تخزين مُحْكَمة الإغلاق تتميز بأنها بسيطة ولكنها فعالة من أجل حماية المحاصيل من الحشرات والقوارض والعفن والرطوبة.

جائحة كورونا

دفعت جائحة كورونا ملايين الأشخاص نحو انعدام الأمن الغذائي من خلال تعطيل حركة الإنتاج والتجارة وسبل العيش، مما أدى إلى توقف الملايين عن العمل.

ما الذي نقوم به

الخدمات المشتركة
UNHRD Panama is preparing to dispatch consignments of Personal protective equipment (PPE) items for WHO. Photo: WFP/Elio Rujano

أنشأ برنامج الأغذية العالمي برنامج الخدمات المشتركة - خدمات نقل الركاب والبضائع عالميًا - والذي يتيح لموظفي الإغاثة الإنسانية والإمدادات الغذائية والصحية الوصول إلى الضعفاء في جميع أنحاء العالم ممن انقطع عنهم الدعم وهم في أمس الحاجة إليه.

المساعدات الغذائية والنقدية
WFP food card helps 800 LGBTI households through the pandemic. Photo: WFP/Hetze Tosta

لتلبية الاحتياجات المتزايدة الناجمة عن الآثار الاجتماعية والاقتصادية لجائحة كورونا، كثف البرنامج مساعداته النقدية والغذائية، ودعم الحكومات في تعزيز شبكات الأمان الاجتماعي الخاصة بها.

Skip to main content

Across the world, up to 811 million people do not have enough food. According to recent estimates, 45 million people in 43 countries are at risk of sliding into famine – the most extreme form of hunger, which can result in death from starvation or disease. Indeed, parts of  Yemen, South Sudan and Madagascar may be close to or are already in the grip of famine. 

The consequence of diets poor in vitamins, minerals and other nutrients are affecting the health and life prospects of millions more, and casting a shadow over the future of communities and entire countries.  

Although enough food is produced to feed everyone on this planet, the goal of a world with zero hunger, as set out in the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development and specifically in Sustainable Development Goal 2, remains hugely challenging due to a toxic cocktail of conflict, climate change, disasters and structural poverty and inequality. Over the past year, the socio-economic consequences of the COVID-19 pandemic have further exacerbated the situation by pushing millions of vulnerable people into greater food insecurity. 

Chief drivers of hunger

Conflict

60 percent of the world’s hungry people live in zones affected by conflict, which is the main driver in 8 out of 10 of the worst hunger crises (as in the case of Yemen, South Sudan, the Democratic Republic of the Congo and Syria, for example).

What we are doing

Food and nutrition assistance
Syria, Aleppo. Children join their parents in line, or are sent to collect bread alone before going to school. Photo: WFP/Hussam Al Saleh

WFP brings life-saving food and nutrition assistance to people trapped or displaced by fighting, wherever they are. With the help of local partners, we reach those in need even in the most remote areas, using all-terrain vehicles and dropping food from planes when all other avenues are closed.

Our assistance can help create pathways to peace, as recognized in the awarding of the Nobel Peace Prize to WFP in 2020.

Prospects for peace
Mitib Ibrahim (L) and Mohammed Jama'a (R) are from different tribes and got to know each other working together on the rehabilitation of an irrigation canal in Ramadi. Photo: WFP/David Orr

Preliminary findings from a joint research study with the Stockholm International Peace Research Institute indicated that WFP’s work contributed to improving prospects for peace by enhancing access to contested natural resources, boosting social cohesion and resolving grievances within and between communities, while increasing opportunities and trust between people and government through strengthening state accountability and service delivery. The study focused on El Salvador, Iraq, Kyrgyzstan and Mali.

Climate change

Climate change-related shocks such as floods or drought affect the lives and livelihoods of millions of people, aggravating poverty, hunger and social tensions. WFP helps governments and communities to understand these increasing risks and to take targeted measures to manage the impact of climate shocks on food security.

What we are doing

Forecast-based financing
WFP staff explain the registration process to the members of Irosin community who are participating in the forecast-based financing project. Photo: WFP Philippines/Arete

WFP’s Forecast-based Financing uses improved early warning based on weather forecasts, so communities can be alerted to climate-related and other shocks 15 days in advance and provided with insurance to take preparatory measures.

Climate-smart energy solutions
Rwanda. School cook, Felicien Rwatangaro. Photo: WFP/Daniel Kibsgaard

To ensure people can cook and consume food safely, WFP facilitates access to modern cooking solutions – such as gas stoves, mini-gasifiers or electric pressure cookers. WFP also strives to empower smallholder farmers through the sustainable dissemination of energy equipment and services for productive uses to boost agricultural market development.

Disasters

When an earthquake, cyclone, a hurricane or other disaster strikes, WFP is a first responder, bringing food and other life-saving assistance to populations that have lost everything.

What we are doing

Logistics
Logistics Officers check personal protective equipment (PPE) being offloaded at the temperature controlled warehouse in Lologo, Juba. Photo: WFP/Giulio d'Adamo

As the leader of the inter-agency Logistics cluster, WFP provides coordination and information management in the response to large-scale disasters.

Connectivity
Haiti, Port au Prince. Telecommunications mast. Photo: WFP/Rein Skullerud

WFP leads the Emergency Telecommunications Cluster, which provides life-saving connectivity in emergency situations. WFP’s Fast IT and Telecommunications Emergency and Support Team of responders (FITTEST) is ready to deploy anywhere in the world to establish and restore communications and information technology networks.

Geospatial analyses
Geospatial analysis. GIS image.

Targeted geospatial analyses show the immediate impact of natural disasters and allow for a faster response matched to needs. Our Geographic Information Systems tools such as ADAM (Automatic Disaster Analysis & Mapping) provide 24/7 mapping of earthquakes and tropical cyclones.

Inequality

Inequality drives hunger by limiting people's opportunities and increasing levels of hunger. Increasing access to employment, finance and markets, for example, can lift people out of poverty very quickly, increasing their productivity and spending power and stimulating local markets.

What we are doing

Food assistance for assets
Kakhobwe's irrigation scheme, under DFID funded Prosper programme in Malawi. Photo: WFP/Badre Bahaji

WFP’s Food Assistance for Assets programme involves people working on community projects such as restoring unproductive land, in return for cash or food. The private sector-focused Farm to Market Alliance connects smallholders to markets and helps them diversify their crops and increase their business potential.

Cash transfers
Malawi. WFP distributing cash to urban and rural households affected by climate shocks and economic effects of COVID-19. Photo: WFP/Badre Bahaji

Where markets and financial systems are functioning, WFP provides assistance in cash. Whether in the form of bank notes, vouchers, debit cards, e-money or mobile money, cash transfers allow people to make choices that improve their food security and nutrition, and inject cash into the local economy.

Social safety nets
Local school authorities and WFP distribute Take-Home Rations (THR) among school children and their parents in La Guajira department, Colombia. Photo: WFP/Miller Choles

WFP supports governments in strengthening the social safety nets they have in place to protect their citizens from poverty, inequality and food insecurity. We also work to enhance the ability of these systems to respond to shocks such as disasters or mass population displacements.

Food loss

Poor storage facilities in farms lead to pest infestations and mould ruining crops. Lack of access to technology and markets means many farmers are forced to watch their crops rot in fields as the labour and financial investment required to harvest them is often unavailable.

What we are doing

Zero post-harvest losses
Malawi. Stop the Waste. Storing food in the warehouse. Photo: WFP/Badre Bahaji

WFP’s Zero Post-Harvest Losses project helps smallholder farmers learn how to use improved post-harvest handling methods, combined with simple but effective hermetic storage equipment to protect crops against insects, rodents, mould and moisture.

COVID-19

The COVID-19 pandemic has pushed millions more people into food insecurity by disrupting production, trade and livelihoods, putting millions out of work.

What we are doing

Common services
UNHRD Panama is preparing to dispatch consignments of Personal protective equipment (PPE) items for WHO. Photo: WFP/Elio Rujano

WFP set up Common Services – global passenger and cargo movement services – allowing humanitarian staff and food and health supplies to reach vulnerable people around the world who would otherwise be cut off from support when they needed it most.

Food and cash assistance
WFP food card helps 800 LGBTI households through the pandemic. Photo: WFP/Hetze Tosta

To address the increased needs created by the socio-economic effects of the COVID-19 pandemic, WFP has stepped up its cash and food assistance, and supported governments in strengthening their own social safety nets.