Skip to main content

ما زال الوضع الأمني في العراق غير مستقر إلى جانب التحديات الأخرى - بما في ذلك الوضع السياسي والاقتصادي الغامض وغير الواضح، والاضطرابات الاجتماعية بسبب ارتفاع معدلات البطالة، وتردي الخدمات العامة، واستمرار تدني المستويات المعيشة. وما تزال الحالة الإنسانية غير مستقرة ومحفوفة بالمخاطر في العديد من المناطق المتأثرة بالصراعات، وقد تفاقم الوضع بسبب جائحة كوفيد – 19 مما أدى إلى تباطؤ التنمية وزيادة انعدام الأمن الغذائي. ومع وصول معدل الفقر إلى 31.7٪ في عام 2020، يحتل العراق المرتبة 123 من بين 189 دولة في مؤشر التنمية البشرية لعام 2020.

 

لا يزال هناك 1.2 مليون نازح داخلي و247,300 لاجئ سوري في العراق. وترد بلاغات عن حالات نزوح ثانوي لبعض العوائل التي تضطر إلى العودة إلى المخيمات بسبب الظروف الأمنية ونقص فرص العمل وسبل كسب العيش في مناطقهم الأصلية.

تركز المساعدات التي يقدمها برنامج الأغذية العالمي التابع للأمم المتحدة في العراق على إنقاذ الأرواح، وبناء القدرة على الصمود والتعافي ودعم شبكات الحماية الاجتماعية، ومسانده الحكومة العراقية من أجل القضاء على الجوع. ومن خلال تعزيز الحماية الاجتماعية والمساعدات الطارئة للنازحين واللاجئين وتطوير المهارات والتدريب على مشاريع العمل للمجتمعات والفئات الهشة، يساعد برنامج الأغذية العالمي حكومة العراق على بناء قدرة الأفراد في الاعتماد على أنفسهم وتحقيق الأمن الغذائي، في سبيل تحقيق التماسك الاجتماعي والسلام والتنمية على المدى الطويل.

تم تسجيل أول حالة إصابة بفيروس كورونا الجديد كوفيد-19 في العراق في شباط / فبراير 2020. ونظراً لتزايد أعداد الحالات التي أبلغت عنها وزارة الصحة، يتخذ برنامج الأغذية العالمي وشركاؤه تدابير إضافية لحماية صحة ورفاهية الأشخاص والفئات المستفيدة من المساعدات.

ما الذي يقدمه برنامج الأغذية العالمي في العراق؟

الاستجابة للأزمات

يدعم برنامج الأغذية العالمي نحو 225,000 ألف نازح داخلي و70,000 ألف لاجئ سوري في المخيمات من خلال المساعدات الغذائية الشهرية، والتي يتم تقديمها بشكل أساسي على شكل حوالات نقدية. وخلال جائحة كوفيد - 19، أضاف برنامج الأغذية العالمي 39,000 فرداً من النازحين واللاجئين من الفئات الهشة إلى مساعداته الشهرية، لغرض دعمهم خلال الأزمة.

بناء القدرة على الصمود

يساعد برنامج الأغذية العالمي في تعزيز الأمن الغذائي للأشخاص المحتاجين والفئات الهشة من خلال استعادة الأصول المجتمعية الرئيسية او إعادة انشائها مثل مشاريع الري وزراعة الحقول والبساتين، وإيجاد فرص عمل مثل مشاريع التخفيف من آثار التغيرات المناخية، بما في ذلك المشاريع في جنوب العراق – ويتم استكمال هذه المشاريع بتدريبات خاصة. كما يواصل برنامج الأغذية العالمي أيضًا تنفيذ برنامج EMPACT "التمكين في العمل" والحائز على عدة جوائز، والذي يزود اللاجئين السوريين والشباب العراقي من الفئات الهشة بالمهارات الرقمية واللغة الإنجليزية لمساعدتهم على تأمين فرص عمل مناسبة لهم.

الحماية الاجتماعية

يعمل برنامج الأغذية العالمي على دعم وزارة التجارة لرقمنة نظام التوزيع العام للحصص الغذائية (البطاقة التموينية)، وهو أكبر برنامج للحماية الاجتماعية في العراق ليصل إلى جميع المواطنين المؤهلين والمستحقين. ويتيح "نظام التوزيع العام الإلكتروني" الجديد إمكانية حصول المستفيدين بسهولة وأمان على حصصهم التموينية مما يوفر الوقت لهم ولموظفي نظام التوزيع العام، وتجنب الازدواجية وبالتالي توفير الأموال. يقوم البرنامج ووزارة التجارة بطرح تطبيق الهاتف الذكي "تمويني" (Tamwini)، حيث يمكن للمستفيدين من تحديث بياناتهم وبيانات عوائلهم بسهولة وأمان والتفاعل مع نظام التوزيع العام أثناء تواجدهم في المنزل من خلال هواتفهم المحمولة.

التغذية المدرسية

يدير برنامج الأغذية العالمي ووزارة التربية البرنامج الوطني للتغذية المدرسية، الذي وصل إلى 321,800 ألف طفل في 11 محافظة في جميع أنحاء العراق في عام 2020 وعندما تم إغلاق المدارس بسبب جائحة كورونا (كوفيد-19)، حصل الأطفال وعوائلهم على الحصص الغذائية المنزلية وحصلوا أيضا على تدريبًا منزليا خاصًا وآمنا بشأن النظافة والتغذية والتعليم.

الاستجابة لجائحة فيروس كورونا

قام برنامج الأغذية العالمي بتوسيع نطاق مساعدته للفئات الهشة والمتضررة من الأزمة، وعمل على إضافة 39,000 نازح داخليًا ولاجئ سوري ليحصلوا على الحوالات النقدية الشهرية. ولاحتواء انتشار الفيروس، يتخذ برنامج الأغذية العالمي وشركاؤه تدابير وقائية مثل الحفاظ على مسافات آمنة، واستخدام الكمامات ومعقمات الأيدي، وتعقيم المواد المستخدمة بكثرة وبشكل متكرر في مناطق توزيع الأغذية. وفي هذا الصدد، أرسل برنامج الأغذية العالمي العديد من الرسائل الرئيسية كما عقد جلسات توعية تستهدف المستفيدين والعاملين في متاجر المخيمات. ويحظى برنامج الأغذية العالمي بالريادة في توفير طرق الدفع غير النقدي، وذلك حتى يتمكن المستفيدون من شراء الطعام " دون تلامس" باستخدام هواتفهم المحمولة، وهو أمر سهل وصحي.

الشركاء والجهات المانحة

تحقيق القضاء على الجوع هو عمل الجميع. عملنا في العراق لم يكن ليتحقق بدون دعم شركائنا ومن بينهم:

اتصل بنا

بغداد

مجمع الأمم المتحدة

البريد الإلكتروني

WFP.Iraq@wfp.org

الهاتف:

الفاكس:

للاستفسارات الإعلامية

sharon.rapose@wfp.org

Skip to main content

The security situation in Iraq remains unstable and significant challenges remain – including political and economic uncertainty, social unrest due to unemployment, eroded public services and persistent low standards of living. The humanitarian situation is still precarious in many conflict-affected areas, aggravated by the COVID-19 pandemic which has also slowed development and heightened food insecurity. With the poverty rate reaching 31.7 percent in 2020, Iraq ranks 123 of 189 countries in the 2020 Human Development Index.

There are still 1.2 million internally displaced people (IDPs) and 244,760 Syrian refugees in Iraq. Some families report secondary displacements, as they are forced to return to camps because of security conditions, and the lack of job and livelihood opportunities in their regions of origin.

The assistance provided by the United Nations World Food Programme (WFP) in Iraq focuses on saving lives, resilience-building and social protection, supporting the Iraqi Government towards Zero Hunger. Through enhancing social protection, emergency assistance for IDPs and refugees, skill development and work projects for vulnerable communities, WFP is helping the Government of Iraq build people's self-reliance and food security, towards longer-term social cohesion, peace and development.

The first case of the novel coronavirus COVID-19 was recorded in Iraq in February 2020. Given the increasing number of cases reported by the Ministry of Health, WFP and its partners are taking additional measures to safeguard the health and wellbeing of people assisted.

39 million
population
1.2 million
Iraqis displaced by conflict
2.4 million
people in acute need of food and livelihood assistance

What the World Food Programme is doing in Iraq

  • Crisis response

    WFP supports some 225,000 internally displaced people and 70,000 Syrian refugees with monthly food assistance, mainly in the form of cash transfers. During the COVID-19 pandemic, WFP added 39,000 vulnerable IDPs and refugees to its monthly assistance, supporting them through the crisis.

  • Resilience-building

    WFP helps enhance the food security of vulnerable people through restoring or creating key community assets such irrigation and orchards, and work opportunities such as on climate change mitigation projects, including in the south of Iraq - all complemented with training. WFP is also continuing the award-winning EMPACT “Empowerment in Action” programme, which equips Syrian refugees and vulnerable Iraqi youth with digital and English language skills to help them secure work.

  • Social protection

    WFP and the Ministry of Trade (MoT) are digitalising the Public Distribution System for food rations (PDS), Iraq’s biggest social protection programme, reaching all eligible citizens. The new “ePDS” helps people easily and securely collect their rations, saving time for both them and the PDS staff, and avoiding duplication so saving funds. WFP and MoT are rolling out the 'Tamwini' ('My Food Ration') smartphone application, so people can easily and safely update their family information and engage with the PDS while staying home.

  • School feeding

    WFP and the Ministry of Education run the National School Feeding Programme (NFSP), reaching 321,800 children in 11 governorates across Iraq in 2020. When the schools remained closed due to COVID-19, the children's families received take-home rations, and special training safely door-to-door on hygiene, nutrition and education.

  • COVID-19 response

    WFP scaled up its assistance to vulnerable people affected by the crisis, adding 39,000 refugees and internally displaced people who receive monthly cash transfers. To contain the spread of the virus, WFP and partners take preventive measures such as maintaining safe distances, using masks and hand sanitisers, and sterilizing frequently-used items in the food distribution areas. Key messages are shared and awareness sessions run with people assisted, and camp shop staff. WFP pioneers new cashless payments, so people can purchase food “contactless” with their mobile phones, which is both easy and hygienic.

Iraq news releases

Go to page

Partners and donors

Achieving Zero Hunger is the work of many. Our work in Iraq is made possible by the support and collaboration of our partners and donors, including:
  • European Commission (ECHO and INTPA)
    USA
  • Belgium
    Italy
    Ireland
  • Government of Iraq
    Share the Meal
    Luxembourg
    World Bank
  • World Vision International
    Mercy Hands
    Samaritan's Purse
    WHH
    Swedo
  • University of Sulaymaniyah
    Action Against Hunger
    Relief & Rebuild International (RIRP)
    Human Relief Foundation
    OROKOM
  • University of Mosul
    Al Mortaqa Foundation

Contacts

Baghdad

UN Compound, International Zone

Email

Phone:

Fax:

For media inquiries

sharon.rapose@wfp.org