Skip to main content

لا يزال يحتل السودان ترتيباً متدنياً في مؤشر التنمية البشرية بفعل الصدمات المناخية التي تؤدي إلى تباين إنتاجه الزراعي فضلاً عن ارتفاع معدلات سوء التغذية، والصراع المُمْتَدّ في بعض المناطق والتحديات الاقتصادية المستمرة، حيث يحتل المرتبة 167 من أصل 189 بلداً.

على مدار عام 2019، عززت الأزمة الاقتصادية في البلاد موجات من الاضطرابات السياسية أعقبها سقوط الرئيس السابق عمر البشير بعد ثلاثة عقود من الحكم. وقد أدى توقيع الاتفاقات السياسية والدستورية بعد عزله بفترة وجيزة إلى رسم نظرة مستقبلية أكثر إيجابية لحل طويل الأمد بين المدنيين والجماعات العسكرية.

 

لا تزال الأزمة الاقتصادية المستمرة تلقي بظلالها على الظروف المعيشية للملايين، وتدفع المزيد والمزيد من الناس إلى الفقر. وبحلول سبتمبر/أيلول 2019، تم تحديد 8.5 مليون شخصبحاجة إلى مساعدات إنسانية - مقارنة بحوالي 5.7 مليون شخص في يناير/كانون الثاني من العام نفسه.

 

لقد كان للتضخم تأثيراً كبيراً على مستوى انعدام الأمن الغذائي. فقد تضاعف عدد الأشخاص الذين يعانون من انعدام الأمن الغذائي ليصل إلى 5.7 مليون شخص بعدما كان 3.8 مليون في بداية الأزمة الاقتصادية في نوفمبر/تشرين الثاني 2017.

 

يمثل رأس المال البشري تحدياً أيضاً، حيث يعاني ما يصل إلى 2.4 مليون طفل من سوء التغذية الحاد المعتدل، بالإضافة إلى أن هناك 689,000 طفل يعانون من سوء التغذية الحاد والشديد. يقدم البرنامج استجابته المعتادة من خلال توفير الأطعمة التكميلية الجاهزة للأكل، إلى جانب توفير حلول مبتكرة لمعالجة نقص الفيتامينات والمعادن. في عام 2018، طرح البرنامج بنجاح منتجه الخاص VITAMINO، والذي يتصدى لسوء التغذية في المناطق الحضرية ويتم طرحه عبر المنافذ التابعة للبرنامج جنباً إلى جنب مع نقاط التوزيع المجانية المخصصة لدعم الفئات الضعيفة في حالات الطوارئ.

لا يزال السودان في حالة طوارئ ممتدة نظراً للصراع الدائر في دارفور منذ أكثر من عقد. ويظل 2.5 مليون شخص نازحين داخلياً، ويعانون شحاً في الموارد وفي الحلول المستدامة لإعادة بناء حياتهم. علاوة على ذلك، يأوي السودان ما يصل إلى مليون لاجئ من الدول المجاورة، وخاصة جنوب السودان.

يتواجد برنامج الأغذية العالمي في السودان منذ عام 1963. وسعى البرنامج إلى خدمة نحو 4.4 مليون شخص في جميع أنحاء البلاد خلال 2019 وذلك من خلال مجموعة من التدخلات الغذائية والنقدية والتغذوية، بالإضافة إلى أنشطة تعزيز الصمود لمساعدة السكان على مقاومة الصدمات المناخية والمشاكل الناتجة عن الصراعات. ويواجه البرنامج في السودان عجزاً تمويلياً يبلغ 29 مليون دولار أمريكي على مدار الستة أشهر القادمة (ديسمبر/كانون الأول 2019-مايو/أيار 2020).

43 مليون نسمة
هو تعداد السكان
1.87 مليون شخص
نازحين داخلياً
5.8 مليون شخص
يعانون انعدام الأمن الغذائي

ما الذي يفعله برنامج الأغذية العالمي في السودان؟

  • المساعدة الغذائية

    يقدم برنامج الأغذية العالمي المساعدات الغذائية للاجئين المستضعفين والنازحين داخلياً والعائدين والمجتمعات المتأثرة بالصدمات، ويتحول تدريجياً نحو تقديم مزيج من المواد الغذائية أو النقدية أو القسائم لتوفير المزيد من الحرية والاختيار للمستفيدين. من خلال برامج الغذاء مقابل بناء الأصول، تحصل المجتمعات على الغذاء أو القسائم أو النقد مقابل المشاركة في أنشطة للحفاظ على الموارد الطبيعية أو دعم الأنشطة الاقتصادية أو تحسين الخدمات والبنية التحتية المجتمعية.
  • التغذية المدرسية

    يستهدف البرنامج الأطفال الذين يعانون من انعدام الأمن الغذائي في المناطق الريفية والمتأثرة بالصراعات حيث يكون الوصول إلى الغذاء محدوداً، ويقدم لهم وجبات مدرسية ساخنة لتشجيعهم على الحضور والتركيز. ولتعزيز مشاركة الإناث في المناطق المستهدفة في جميع أنحاء شرق السودان، يقدم البرنامج حصص إعاشة إضافية للطالبات. مع بداية 2019، من المتوقع أن تحل القسائم الإلكترونية المنزلية محل حصص الإعاشة لأسر الفتيات اللائي يتلقين تعليماً عن التنوع الغذائي.
  • النظم الغذائية وشبكات الأمان

    لتعزيز اعتماد المجتمعات المحلية الضعيفة على نفسها، يعمل البرنامج على توسيع نطاق برامج ضياع المحصول بعد الحصاد - والتي تمكن المزارعين من أصحاب الحيازات الصغيرة من الاحتفاظ بمعظم المحاصيل التي يزرعونها من خلال استخدام أكياس تعبئة محكمة الغلق - والعمل مع الحكومة من أجل تعزيز شبكات الأمان الخاصة بها. يشمل ذلك توفير مصادر بديلة للدخل خلال فترات عدم الاستقرار من خلال المدفوعات النقدية، وبالتالي مساعدة المجتمعات الضعيفة على تلبية الاحتياجات الأساسية للأمن الغذائي.
  • التغذية

    يهدف البرنامج إلى منع وعلاج سوء التغذية الحاد في حالات الطوارئ وما بعدها، كما يعمل على الحد من التقزم ومنع نقص الفيتامينات والمعادن من خلال التدخلات الخاصة بالتغذية. بالتعاون مع القطاع الخاص، أطلق البرنامج بنجاح منتج VITAMINO، وهو منتج مخصص للمغذيات الدقيقة لمعالجة سوء التغذية يتم توزيعه مجاناً على المشردين داخلياً واللاجئين والمقيمين الضعفاء، ويتم طرحه عبر منافذ البيع بالتجزئة بغرض الوصول إلى سكان المناطق الحضرية. يدعم البرنامج أيضاً الجهود الوطنية الرامية إلى إثراء الأغذية، ويدعو إلى وضع التشريعات والمعايير ذات الصلة، ويشجع استهلاك الأغذية المدعمة.

بيانات صحفية عن السودان

اذهب إلى الصفحة

اتصل بنا

البريد الإلكتروني

wfp.Khartoum@wfp.org

الهاتف:

الفاكس:

للاستفسارات الإعلامية

wfp.Khartoum@wfp.org

Skip to main content

Affected by climatic shocks which contribute to inconsistent agricultural production as well as by high rates of malnutrition, protracted conflict in some locations and persistent economic challenges, Sudan remains low in the Human Development Index, ranking 167 out of 189 countries.

Throughout 2019, the country’s economic crisis underpinned waves of political unrest, leading to the fall of former President Omar Al-Bashir after three decades in power. The signing of the Political and Constitutional Agreements soon after his demise has left a more positive outlook for a longer-term solution between civilian and military groups.

The ongoing economic crisis continues to affect the living conditions of millions, and is pushing more and more people into poverty. As of September 2019, there are 8.5 million people identified as in need of humanitarian assistance – up from 5.7 million in January of the same year.

Inflationary pressures have had a deep impact on the level of food insecurity. Recorded at 3.8 million at the onset of the economic crisis in November 2017, the number of food insecure people has reached to 5.7 million.

Human capital is also a challenge, with up to 1.8 million children suffering from Moderate Acute Malnutrition, and a further 689,000 with Severe Acute Malnutrition. The World Food Programme (WFP) is providing its traditional response through ready-to-use supplementary foods, along with more innovative solutions to tackle vitamin and mineral deficiencies. In 2018, WFP successfully launched its retail-owned brand VITAMINO, tackling urban-based malnutrition along with its hallmark free emergency distributions to vulnerable groups.

Sudan remains a protracted emergency, following the conflict in Darfur over a decade ago. Currently 2.5 million people remain internally displaced and with little resources and sustainable solutions to rebuild their lives. Additionally, Sudan is hosting up to 1 million refugees from neighbouring countries, mainly South Sudan.

WFP has been present in Sudan since 1963. In 2019, the organization is planning to serve up to 4.4 million people across the country through a range of food, cash and nutrition interventions, as well as resilience activities to help populations withstand climatic shocks and conflict-related issues. 

 

 

43 million
population
2.5 million
people are internally displaced
5.7 million
people are food insecure

What WFP is doing in Sudan

  • Food assistance

    WFP provides food assistance to vulnerable refugees, internally displaced people, returnees and shock-affected resident communities, gradually shifting towards a combination of food, cash or vouchers to provide more freedom and choice. Through Food Assistance for Assets (FFA) programmes, communities receive food, vouchers or cash in return for participating in activities to preserve natural resources, support economic activities or improve community services and infrastructure.
  • School feeding

    Targeting food-insecure children in rural and conflict-affected areas where access to food is limited, WFP provides hot school meals to encourage attendance and concentration. To enhance female participation in targeted areas across Eastern Sudan, WFP has been providing additional take-home rations to girl students. Starting in 2019, take-home e-vouchers are expected to replace rations for the families of girls, who also receive education on dietary diversity.
  • Food Systems and Safety nets

    To enhance the self-reliance of vulnerable communities, WFP is scaling up Post Harvest Loss programmes – which enable small-holder farmers to keep most of the food they grow through the introduction of hermetic bags – and working alongside the Government to strengthen its safety nets system. This includes providing alternative sources of income during periods of instability through cash payments, thus helping vulnerable communities meet basic food security needs.
  • Nutrition

    WFP aims to prevent and treat acute malnutrition in emergency and recovery situations, reduce stunting and prevent mineral and vitamin deficiencies through nutrition-specific interventions. In collaboration with the private sector, WFP successfully launched VITAMINO, a micronutrient product to tackle malnutrition, distributed free of charge to internally displaced persons, refugees and vulnerable residents, and sold through retail outlets to reach urban populations. WFP also supports national food fortification efforts, advocating for the development of relevant legislation and standards, and promoting consumption of fortified foods.

Sudan news releases

Go to page

Partners and donors

Achieving Zero Hunger is the work of many. Our work in Sudan is made possible by the support and collaboration of our partners and donors, including:

Contacts

Khartoum

653 A Block 68 Arkawit, PO Box 913

Phone: +249 183248001

Fax: +249 183248003

For media inquiries

wfp.Khartoum@wfp.org