Skip to main content

مع دخول الأزمة السورية عامها العاشر، لا يزال الوضع الإنساني مؤلم وينذر بكارثة. فقد تسببت هذه الأزمة في نزوح الملايين من ديارهم، وحتى من بقوا في ديارهم يكافحون في سبيل الحصول على ما يكفيهم من الأغذية، كما يحاولون إعادة بناء حياتهم.

يؤدي النزاع والنزوح والضغوط الاقتصادية إلى زيادة الجوع، وتحتاج الأسر السورية إلى مساعدة البرنامج الآن أكثر من أي وقت مضى.

في عام 2019، نزح 1.8 مليون شخص داخليًا - بزيادة قدرها 200 ألف شخص عن عام 2018. وقد أدت النزاعات الدائرة في شمال شرق وشمال غرب سوريا إلى زيادة مستويات الجوع وانعدام الأمن الغذائي؛ حيث فقدت الأسر السورية منازلها وأعمالها ودخلها. ومع استمرار النزاعات، يُدفع بالأسر إلى مزيد من الفقر وتلجأ إلى اتباع ممارسات غير مأمونة مثل الاستدانة وتقليل حجم الوجبات وعددها- من أجل البقاء على قيد الحياة.

وفي ديسمبر/كانون الأول 2019، تصاعد الصراع في شمال غرب سوريا وغرب حلب. وأُجبر ما يقرب من مليون شخص على الفرار من منازلهم في أكبر موجة نزوح منذ بدء الأزمة. ويقيم الكثير منهم حالياً في مخيمات مكتظة وقد غادروا منازلهم سيراً على الأقدام وهم يحملون معهم ما تمكنوا من حمله. ومن بين هؤلاء النازحين 80 بالمائة من النساء والأطفال الذين يحتاجون حالياً إلى مساعدات إنسانية مستمرة.

وقد بادر برنامج الأغذية العالمي بإطلاق استجابة فورية، وعزز من عملياته الإنسانية الجارية في الشمال الغربي السوري، ويقدم حالياً مساعدات غذائية طارئة لأكثر من مليون شخص كل شهر من خلال عمليات البرنامج عبر الحدود مع تركيا.

وبالإضافة إلى النزاعات، تقفز أسعار المواد الغذائية بسرعة في جميع أنحاء البلاد، مما يشكل ضغطاً جديداً على الأسر لتلبية احتياجاتها الأساسية. فقد ارتفع متوسط أسعار المواد الغذائية على الصعيد الوطني بنسبة مذهلة بلغت 67 في المائة في غضون عام واحد فقط، إلى جانب ارتفاع الأسعار في محافظة إدلب في الشمال الغربي بنسبة 120 في المائة. حتى أصبح الآن تناول ثلاث وجبات صحية في اليوم أمراً بعيد المنال عن الكثيرين.

في جميع أنحاء سوريا، يواصل برنامج الأغذية العالمي ضمان وصول الأغذية إلى الأسر الأشد احتياجاً في وقت حاجتهم إليها.

 

نحو مليون شخص
نزحوا في شمال غرب سوريا منذ ديسمبر/كانون الأول 2019
4.5 مليون شخص
في سوريا يتلقون مساعدات غذائية من برنامج الأغذية العالمي كل شهر.
316.5 مليون دولار أمريكي
هي الاحتياجات التمويلية لبرنامج الأغذية العالمي حتى فبراير/شباط 2020

ما الذي يفعله برنامج الأغذية العالمي للاستجابة لحالة الطوارئ في سوريا

  • المساعدة الغذائية

    يقدم برنامج الأغذية العالمي أغذية منقذة للحياة لـعدد يبلغ 4.5 مليون شخص كل شهر في جميع المحافظات السورية البالغ عددها 14 محافظة. وهذا يشمل توزيع المساعدات الغذائية الطارئة على الأسر في شمال غرب سوريا لمساعدتهم على تلبية احتياجاتهم الضرورية خلال أوقات الأزمات.

  • القدرة على الصمود وسبل كسب الرزق

    تُعد مشروعات سبل كسب الرزق وبناء القدرة على الصمود جزءًا أساسيًا من استجابة البرنامج الإنسانية في سوريا وهي مصممة لحماية سبل كسب الرزق للأسر واستعادتها، ودعم الأمن الغذائي، وتعزيز القدرة على الصمود إزاء الصدمات، والمساعدة في استعادة الاقتصادات المحلية. وتزود هذه الأنشطة المستفيدين بالمهارات والبنية التحتية التي يحتاجونها ليحققوا الاكتفاء الذاتي ويكون لديهم ما يكفيهم لتلبية احتياجاتهم الغذائية.

  • الوجبات المدرسية

    تسبب النزاع في انقطاع ملايين الأطفال السوريين عن التعليم. ويساعد برنامج التغذية المدرسية برعاية برنامج الأغذية العالمي على تفادي ضياع الجيل من خلال تزويد الطلاب بحافز قوي لحضور الفصل. وفي كل يوم، يعرف مئات الآلاف من الأطفال أنهم سيحصلون على وجبة صحية أو وجبة خفيفة من برنامج الأغذية العالمي تساعدهم على التركيز والتمتع بصحة جيدة وتحقيق أقصى إمكاناتهم.

  • التغذية

    تدعم أنشطة برنامج الأغذية العالمي التغذوية النساء الحوامل والمرضعات والفتيات وكذلك الأطفال دون سن الخامسة للوقاية من سوء التغذية ونقص المغذيات الدقيقة ومعالجتها. وتتلقى الأمهات والأطفال أطعمة مغذية متخصصة لتلبية احتياجاتهم الخاصة، ويحصلن على قسائم إلكترونية حتى يتمكن من شراء مواد غذائية أكثر تنوعًا، كما يقدم البرنامج المراقبة المنتظمة للتأكد من تمتع النساء والأطفال بالصحة والعافية.

الاحتياجات التمويلية

يكافح البرنامج من أجل تلبية الاحتياجات الغذائية العاجلة لأكثر من خمسة ملايين نازح في سوريا وفي دول الجوار شهرياً. ونظراً لنقص التمويل في سوريا، فقد اضطر البرنامج بالفعل إلى خفض السعرات الحرارية المقدمة في سلته الغذائية. وبالنظر إلى المهلة الزمنية التي تتراوح بين 2 إلى 3 أشهر لتجهيز السلع من أجل توزيعها في البلاد، يحتاج البرنامج بشكل عاجل إلى 122 مليون دولار أمريكي حتى يوليو/تموز 2020.

كيف يمكنك المساعدة

تبرعك يحدث فرقاً. ادعم عمل برنامج الأغذية العالمي لإنقاذ وتغيير حياة الأسر في جميع أنحاء سوريا. معاً يمكننا مساعدة السوريين في الحصول على المساعدة الطارئة وإعادة بناء حياتهم.

Skip to main content

As the Syrian crisis enters its tenth year, the humanitarian situation remains dire. Millions of people have been displaced from their homes, and those who remain are struggling to access sufficient food and rebuild their lives.

Conflict, displacement and economic pressures are driving hunger, and Syrian families need our help more than ever.

In 2019, 1.8 million people were internally displaced – an increase of 200,000 from 2018. Conflicts in Syria’s northeast and northwest have increased levels of hunger and food insecurity as families have lost their homes, businesses and incomes. As conflicts continue, families are being pushed further into poverty and are resorting to detrimental measures – such as going into debt and eating smaller and fewer meals – to survive.

In December 2019, conflict escalated in northwest Syria and western Aleppo. Close to one million people have now been forced to flee their homes in the largest wave of displacement since the crisis began. Many are now sheltering in over-crowded camps and have left their homes on foot, taking just what they could carry. 80 percent of these displaced people are women and children who are now in need of ongoing humanitarian assistance.

WFP launched an immediate response and scaled up its ongoing humanitarian operations in the northwest and is now providing emergency food assistance to more than one million people each month through our cross-border operation from Turkey.

In addition to conflict, food prices are rapidly increasing across the country, putting pressure on families to meet their basic needs. Nationwide average food prices have increased by a staggering 67 percent in just one year, with prices in Idlib governorate in the northwest increasing by 120 percent. Eating three healthy meals per day is now beyond the reach of many.

Across Syria, WFP continues to ensure that food reaches the most vulnerable families when they need it the most.

Close to one million people
have been displaced in northwest Syria since December 2019
4.5 million
people in Syria receives lifesaving food from WFP each month
USD $181 million
WFP’s funding requirement through to August 2020

What the World Food Programme is doing to respond to the Syria emergency

  • Food assistance

    WFP provides lifesaving food to 4.5 million people each month across all 14 governates in Syria. This includes distributing emergency food assistance to families in northwest Syria to help them meet their immediate needs in times of crisis.
  • Resilience and livelihoods

    Livelihood and resilience projects are a core part of WFP’s humanitarian response in Syria, designed to protect and restore families’ livelihoods and food security, strengthen resilience to shocks, and help to restore local economies. These activities provide beneficiaries with the skills and infrastructure they need to become self-sufficient and take ownership of their own food needs.
  • School feeding

    Millions of Syrian children have had their educations interrupted by conflict, and WFP’s school feeding programme is helping to avoid a lost generation by providing students a powerful incentive to attend class. Each day, hundreds of thousands of children know they will receive a healthy meal or snack from WFP that will help them to concentrate, stay healthy and reach their full potential.
  • Nutrition

    WFP’s nutrition activities support pregnant and breastfeeding women and girls, as well as children under 5 to prevent and address malnutrition and micro-nutrient deficiencies. Mothers and children receive specialized nutritious food to meet their unique needs, electronic vouchers so they can purchase more diverse diets, and regular monitoring to ensure they are becoming stronger and healthier.
Funding needs 

WFP is struggling to meet the urgent food needs of more than five million displaced people in Syria and in neighbouring countries every month. Due to funding shortfalls in Syria, WFP has already been forced to reduce the calories in the food basket. Given the 2-3 months procurement lead time to have the commodities in-country ready for distribution, WFP requires US$ 122 million until July 2020.

 

How you can help

Your donation will make a difference. Support WFP’s work to save and change the lives of families across Syria. Together we can help Syrians to access emergency assistance and rebuild their lives.

Partners and Donors

Achieving Zero Hunger is the work of many. Our work in Syria is made possible by the support and collaboration of our partners and donors, including: