Skip to main content

宣布发生饥荒的标准

  • 至少20% 的家庭 面临极端粮食短缺问题
  • 至少30% 的儿童 患有急性营养不良症
  • 每10000人中 有2人 因饥饿或营养不良和疾病共同导致死亡

你可能认为饥荒早已成为过去。事情本应是这样。然而,在你阅读这篇文章时,全世界有4400万人处于饥荒的边缘,最轻微的冲击都可能使他们陷入困境。不幸的是,当宣布发生饥荒时,已经为时已晚。数以千计的人已死于饥饿。

世界粮食计划署拥有专业的、深入实地的行动和业务规模来阻止饥荒发生并引导人们远离饥饿边缘。我们为避免饥荒夜以继日地工作,但迫切需要资金来实现这一目标。无所作为将不可避免地导致生命的丧失。

在一个粮食产量不断增加的世界里,人类没有理由仍要遭受这种命运。

导致饥荒的原因是什么?

导致饥荒的原因有很多。

冲突是造成饥荒的最大原因。当冲突迫使大量的人离开他们的家园、土地和工作时,饥饿程度就会恶化。饥荒往往发生在交通受限的地区,而交通受限是冲突地区的常见问题。

气候变化和更频繁的干旱加剧了粮食短缺。干旱意味着农作物减少,气候导致的移民正在迫使农民离开他们的土地。

新冠疫情也导致了饥饿人数急剧增加。为遏制新冠疫情蔓延所采取的措施打击了全球经济,使数百万人陷入失业和贫困,并使政府和捐助者用于满足最弱势人群粮食和营养需求的资源减少。

不平等也是关键因素,低收入使得数百万人无法获得负担得起的食物。

世界上哪些地方在发生饥荒?

世界上目前没有任何国家符合上述饥荒标准,但许多国家确实存在饥荒风险,饥荒可能很快就会发生。

受影响的人大部分生活在非洲国家。然而,从中东到拉丁美洲和加勒比地区,全球大多数地区都可能出现突发性饥饿状况急剧增加的现象。

饥荒往往发生在人道主义救助受到限制的地区,特别是在也门南苏丹,冲突、不安全和由此导致的流离失所正在使突发性饥饿程度上升到令人担忧的水平。

根据粮食及农业组织世界粮食计划署联合发布的 《饥饿热点》报告,除了这两个国家之外,埃塞俄比亚北部地区和尼日利亚北部地区的人们也面临着特别的风险。

在全球范围内,来自38个国家的4400万人目前处于饥荒边缘,面临着饿死的危险,高于2019年的2700万人。

children are eating their food
南苏丹:琼莱阿科博东部的孩子们正在用高粱和当地的水果共进午餐——该国上一次宣布饥荒是在2017年。 照片:世界粮食计划署/Marwa Awad
 

我们如何应对饥荒?

世界粮食计划署拥有专业技能和影响力来通过各种方法帮助预防饥荒的发生。

我们如何应对饥荒

紧急粮食援助

在饥荒面前,世界粮食计划署可部署用于拯救生命的最有力工具是紧急粮食援助,包括实物和现金。在也门,世界粮食计划署提供了有史以来最大规模的粮食援助,救助人数从2015年的100万人增加到2019年近1300万人,这帮助避免了饥荒。

技术

先进的技术使得世界粮食计划署能够在情况迅速恶化的地方发出警报,提供洞察力,为正确的应对提供信息,并确保我们能够帮助到那些急需援助的人们。

物流和供应链

世界粮食计划署的物流和供应链能力可以将大量的粮食运送到最需要的地方——包括在极端情况下使用空投和空运。在任何一天,世界粮食计划署都有5000辆卡车、20艘船和92架飞机在运行中;世界粮食计划署每年分发超过150亿份粮食配给。

更长远的思考

消除饥饿威胁和完全防止饥荒需要更长期和更复杂的干预措施,包括加强教育、营养、生计恢复力和社会保护系统,如学校供餐计划。

饥荒绝非不可避免的——借助适当的计划和协调,饥荒是可以预防的,数百万人的生命可以因此而得到挽救。我们部署各种工具来预防和应对饥荒。可选择的工具如下。

我们使用的工具

快速响应机制

世界粮食计划署已经在南苏丹和尼日利亚东北部以及其他国家推出了这项工具,让移动响应团队能够帮助到偏远、孤立地区的人们。他们通常乘坐直升机出行,对人员进行登记,以便世界粮食计划署能够通过陆运、河运或空投的方式运送食品、营养品和其他援助物资。

实时饥饿地图

该地图运用了人工智能、机器学习和数据分析技术,以接近实时的方式对90多个国家的饥饿规模和严重程度进行预测和跟踪。

紧急服务市场

这项机制使得世界粮食计划署在供应链、工程、信息技术和行政管理方面的专业技能在危机时期可供更广泛的人道主义社区使用。

现在是时候采取行动了

世界粮食计划署完全依靠自愿捐助,因此每一笔捐助都很重要。
立即捐助

Skip to main content

What is the definition of famine?

  • 20% of households face extreme food shortages
  • 30% of children suffer from acute malnutrition
  • 2 people per 10,000 die from starvation, or disease + malnutrition

You might think famines are a thing of the past. They should be. But famine still exists and as you read this, 48.9 million people are facing emergency levels of hunger. Tragically, by the time a famine is declared, it's already too late. Thousands of people are already dying of hunger.

WFP has the expertise, deep-field presence and operational scale to stop famine in its tracks, and steer people away from the edge of starvation. We work around the clock to avert famine, but urgently need funding to do this. The price of doing nothing will inevitably be measured in lost lives.

In a world where food production keeps increasing, there is no reason that humans should still be suffering this fate.

What are the main causes of famine?

There are many problems which contribute to famine.

Conflict is the biggest driver of famine. Hunger levels worsen when conflict drives large numbers of people from their homes, their land and their jobs. Famines tend to occur in areas where access is restricted, a common factor in conflict zones.

Climate change and more regular droughts are increasing food shortages. Drought means fewer crops, and climate-induced migration is driving farmers from their land.

The fallout of the COVID-19 pandemic is contributing to sharply increasing hunger numbers. Measures to curb the spread of COVID-19 have hit economies worldwide, pushing millions into unemployment and poverty, and leaving governments and donors with fewer resources to address the food and nutritional needs of the most vulnerable people.

Inequality is also critical factor, with low incomes putting affordable food beyond the reach of millions.

Where is there famine in the world?

There are no countries in the world currently meeting the official definition of a famine outlined above, but there are many countries where the risk of starvation is real and famine could happen very soon.

While the majority of affected people live in countries in Africa, the risk of famine is global. Acute hunger is set to rise steeply in most world regions, from the Middle East to Latin America and the Caribbean.

Famines tend to occur in areas where humanitarian access is restricted. In Yemen and South Sudan in particular, conflict, insecurity and resulting displacement are driving acute hunger to alarming levels.

As well as in those two countries, people in the northern parts of Ethiopia and Nigeria are also at particular risk, according to the Hunger Hotspots report, published jointly by the Food and Agriculture Organization and the World Food Programme. 

Globally, 48.9 million people are currently on the very edge of famine and risk starvation, up from 27 million people in 2019.

children are eating their food
South Sudan: Children in Akobo East, Jonglei, take a lunch of sorghum with a local fruit — famine was last declared in the country in 2017. Photo: WFP/Marwa Awad
 

How can we stop famine?

WFP has the expertise and reach to help avoid acute hunger and prevent famines from occurring, through various approaches.

How WFP fights famine

Emergency food assistance

The most powerful tool that WFP can deploy to save lives in the face of famine is emergency food assistance, both in-kind and cash-based. In Yemen, WFP’s largest-ever scale up of food assistance, from 1 million people in 2015 to nearly 13 million helped avert famine in 2019.

Technology

The most powerful tool that WFP can deploy to save lives in the face of famine is emergency food assistance, both in-kind and cash-based. In Yemen, WFP’s largest-ever scale up of food assistance, from 1 million people in 2015 to nearly 13 million helped avert famine in 2019.

Logistics & supply chain

WFP’s logistics and supply chain capabilities can move huge quantities of food to where they’re most needed — in extreme cases using airdrops and airlifts. On any given day, WFP has 5,000 trucks, 20 ships and 92 planes on the move; every year WFP distributes more than 15 billion food rations.

Longer-term thinking

Eliminating the threat of starvation and preventing famine entirely will require longer term and more complex interventions, including strengthening education, nutrition, livelihood resilience and social protection systems such as school meals programmes.

Famine is never inevitable – with proper planning and coordination, it can be prevented and millions of lives can be saved. We deploy a variety of tools to both prevent and respond to famine. Here is a selection.

The tools we use

Rapid Response Mechanism

WFP has rolled this tool out in South Sudan and northeast Nigeria, among other countries, allowing mobile response teams to reach people in remote, isolated areas. Travelling usually by helicopter, they register people so WFP can transport food, nutrition supplies and other assistance by road, river or airdrops.

Hunger Map Live

The map deploys artificial intelligence, machine learning and data analytics to predict and track the magnitude and severity of hunger in close to real time in more than 90 countries.

Emergency Service Marketplace

This mechanism makes WFP’s expertise in supply chain, engineering, IT and administration available to the wider humanitarian community in times of crisis.

Now is the time to act

WFP relies entirely on voluntary contributions, so every donation counts.
Donate now